top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmalia Harrington

I'm Not Spilling This Tea

I am a big tea drinker. When I don't make cup after cup throughout the day, I have a pot on the stove, waiting for comsumption. Not only is it a tasty means of quenching thirst, it helps me get in the mood when writing and editing.


For the past two years, I've been making masala chai two, three or more times a week. The spices vary, but I have some typical blends like the one below.


Kitchen counter boasting masala chai spaces with mortar and pestle.
The spices

From left to right are cinnamon sticks, whole allspice, candied giner atop whole cardamon, whole cloves, and who black pepper. I usually do one cinnamon stick per pot, and four to five pieces of candied ginger per pot. Other whole spices are one per teabag, and get crushed before steeping.


Depending on how thristy I am, a pot can last all day, or vanish by lunchtime. Either way, I recommend making your own spiced tea. It allows you to customize flavors just the way you want.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page