top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmalia Harrington

Who We Follow in the Second Worlds

Secondary worlds are fictional constructs, and popular settings for science fiction, fantasy and horror. I understand the appeal. For me, it's nice having a strong level of control over what my characters may face. Building and exploring a secondary world also adds to the "what if" of speculative fiction.


Last September, someone on Codex brought up a question that never occurred to me before. What secondary world stories don't star elite characters?



Children in a classroom, deep in thought as they fill out an assignment.
Deep in thought

I quickly ran some secondary world pieces I've read through my head. They're royal, she's nobility, he's the bandit king, that orphanage is filled with Chosen Ones, etc.


It's taken me longer to think of some, but I have a respectable list by now. I hope to share it with you over time.


0 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page