top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmalia Harrington

Composing a Constucted Language

Last month, when I could still brain a little, though not much, I did not work on my current manuscript. Instead, I took a detour to focus on worldbuilding, specifically building a conlang my leads use.


Conlang is short for "constructed language." They're made up languages used to flesh out fictional worlds. Tolkein made a number of these. Other well known conlangs include Klingon (Star Trek,) Dothraki (A Song of Ice and Fire,) and Huttese (Star Wars.)


This isn't my first conlang. I attempted one or two back in high school. They weren't very good. Think a handful of words or phrases barely derived from English and Japanese.


I put the language together using help from the TV Tropes page https://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/SoYouWantTo/CreateAConlang. Due to the way my conlang works, and to make things easier for myself, I haven't created any vocabulary. The focus is entirely on grammar, inspired in part by Mandarin, partly how I speak when I'm very neurospicy.



A Black child and woman signing to each other.


On the page, it shows up as English words in a somewhat recognizable state. See below for an example,


Person 1: Wanting not wanting going bread store? (Want to go to the bakery with me?)


Person 2: Yesterday going. (I went yesterday.)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page