top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmalia Harrington

Neurospicy Subtext

For many years, I participated in a writing group headed by a retired special education teacher. More than once, he asked if this character or that one is autistic. My answers were a firm "no," as well as annoyance. I was the only person in the group that didn't write thinly veiled memoirs or family biographies. They assumed my work was too, even when I included elements like magic and space travel.


I am an autistic writer. Bits of me will come out into my characters, even if I don't realize it. However, I disliked my writing group's surface level assessment. A character's rich vocabulary or handful or quirks is not the same as being on the spectrum.



Closeup of a chili plant. Its green and red peppers point upwards and shien with dew.
Symbolic representation of neurospiciness


Earlier this month, I described part of my upcoming book to an acquaintance who's also on the spectrum. She too asked if my lead is autistic, but I was a lot less bothered. Acquaintance didn't ask because my character likes trains, is a math genius, or something else highly visible. She asked because we both know what it's like living in a world that isn't built for us.


The protagonist in my current work is autistic. I don't know how obvious it would be to neurotypical readers, but my character's masking efforts and panicked inner monologue will be familiar to others.

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page