top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmalia Harrington

Monster Writing

I have been busy writing and editing, just not on this blog. It's been months since I worked on my second novel manuscript, so I'm editing it from the first sentence down to regain my feel for it.


The protagonist is neurospicy in a world built for neurotypical people. She has been masking for so long, she doesn't realize she has a mask, let alone how to turn it off.


There's a song I have a soft spot for, called 怪物, "Monster" in English, by the band YOASOBI. On the surface, the song is about a wolf struggling with his carnivore instincts, and his relationship with a rabbit, in a society that frown upon both. As a metaphor, it has high applicability, representing what's considered acceptable versus aberrant, and what happens when people pretend nothing is wrong.



A grey wolf stands in front of several trees, and looks directly at the camera.
Trying hard to be a good boi


As such, it fits my protagonist quite well.


The song is linked below, with English subtitles available. The verse where the wolf stresses over what is or isn't justice also serves as the first half of my protagonist's arc.

7 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


boxxawoxx
Sep 19

I believe this is the Path you

should take to avoid wandern

around for few thousand years

in the darkness, miss adorable:


You may think my name's funny...

yet I gotta lotta news4youse:

● NOPEcantELOPE.blogspot.com ●

'Step WRITE this Way!!!'

yells the Carnivæl Barkər:

● rawwdude.blogspot.com ●

As I literally experienced Heaven

at 15 as a NearDeathExperiencer,

lemme tella youse summoe

without d'New Joisey axent

wot2Xperience

Fyoo wannum:

● nrg2xtc.blogspot.com ●

Cya soon, gorgeous wildflower.

☆ Daniel 12:3 ☆

Like
boxxawoxx
Sep 19
Replying to

Straight-up, baby,

to where I am: I'm

a Near Death

Experiencer...

Like
bottom of page