top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmmalia Harrington

Baby Steps into Self-Publishing

As I mentioned in early March, I got paired with a mentor through SFWA to help me with my self publishing journey. We started with a flurry of emails, then a lengthy Zoom chat. I will contact them again, but first I wanted to tackle some of their suggestions.


First thing I'm working on, so to speak, it cover art. According to my mentor, most books in my genre have illustrated covers. I'm a person who draws for fun, not professionally, and it shows. I asked other people I know for artist recommendations, and I've contacted one or two people. Fingers crossed.



Close up of a dark skinned person's hands as they prepare to draw in a notebook.
Busy busy

The second piece of advice is to start a newsletter. My mentor recommended some programs. First though, there's a LinkedIn Learning course I want to take involving promotion through newsletters. Hopefully I'll find the time next week.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page